Tiny Tea 14 Day TEAtox Review: First Impressions

I’ve been suffering from some indigestion and bloating in the past few months. Yes, I admit that I’ve been eating rich foods and a bit too much dairy products (I think I’ve developed lactose intolerance in my adulthood) and this bloating has been incredibly uncomfortable.

I am trying to control my diet bit by bit and adjust to better, cleaner choices, but I still find it extremely difficult to avoid processed food or milk. This bloating coupled with water retention has resulted in my large round belly. I noticed it’s not really just fats because it comes and goes.

I’ve been looking for a solution to ease the bloating without totally cutting out the source of the problem from my diet and I chanced upon this recent wellness “craze” that’s buzzing on Instagram – the legendary “teatox”.

teatoximpressions

What is a teatox? 

It’s a tea detox. Most fans of these tea detox programmes have a favourite blend that helps with cleansing of the digestive tract and detoxifying of the body. Apparently, most of these teatoxes can help increase your energy levels (without caffeine) and even help with getting rid of excessive weight as well. Sounds a bit too good to be true? I did my research, and the number of happy customers raving about it on social media is insane. I’m a real big skeptic of “diet teas” but this TEAtox concept seemed to stack up logically, so I went to find out more.

There are several popular sites out there selling these detox teas and two that I’ve heard of at the moment are Yourtea.com and Skinnymint.com.

Coincidentally, as I was researching on which teatox I wanted to try, I was also contacted by Yourtea.com to do a review of one of their best-selling herbal tea blends, the Tiny Tea 14 Day TEAtox. (I guess this must be the law of attraction working it’s magic? I can’t complain!)

The Tiny Tea 14 Day TEAtox works like this. You take one bag of tea, steep it in boiling water for around 5 to 7 minutes before consuming it approximately 30 minutes before or after a meal (your choice). Depending on whether you have breakfast, you may take it twice or thrice daily. It can be taken for up to 56 days consecutively before it is recommended you stop taking it for two weeks for the body to fall into its natural rhythm and then you’re good to continue taking it again.

Each Tiny Tea 14 Day TEAtox comes in a box with 42 tea bags and retails online on Yourtea.com for $35.

How Does it Work?

Indigestion and toxin build-up in the body are major culprits for many ailments like bad skin, sluggishness, bloating and weight gain. After all, these problems mentioned are all symptoms of something that is not going right inside of our bodies. The folks of Yourtea.com believe that a healthy body that has the nourishment it needs will naturally function well.

Indigestion is such a common problem now because of our fast paced city lifestyle. Being anxious about work or depressed about our relationships for instance can be cause for it. Excessive alcohol consumption (bottle popping anyone?) or use of drugs like aspirin when we are ill or have headaches, are also possible contributors to indigestion.

By drinking herbal tea blends like Tiny Tea 14 Day TEAtox, the ingredients work to clear up your digestive system and this in turn encourages blood production resulting in higher energy levels, improves digestion which helps reduce instances of bloating and reduce surplus weight and it removes the toxins and creates balance in the body that helps with clearing the skin.

How is it Different From Other Tea Detoxes?

Unlike other tea detoxes, Tiny Tea DOES NOT contain laxatives to “flush out” toxins. So you don’t have to make multiple trips to the restroom during the day (and maybe night).

If you’d like to find out why Tiny Tea doesn’t contain laxatives and how laxatives may not be the best way to achieve any weight loss, you might want to read this informative article on the Yourtea.com blog.

Tinytea-ingredients

 

Tiny Tea was developed with TCM principles in mind and it is made with a mix of Chinese herbs by a team of Chinese Medicine practitioners.

The ingredients in each blend are Camellia Sinensis (Tea Plant), Fructus Hordei Geminatus 麦芽 (Germinated Barley), Cratigus Pinnatifida 山楂 (Chinese Hawthorn), Pericarpium Citri Reticulatae 陈皮 (Tangerine Peel), Nelumbo nucifera Gaertn 荷葉 (Lotus Leaf) and Semen Phaseoli 赤小豆 (Aduki Bean).

The right dosage of each herb is included in each blend per tea bag and drinking this particular 14 Day TEAtox blend can help with drying phlegm, reducing waste, increasing blood quality, reducing food stagnation in the body through nourishing the digestive system.

Tinytea-packaging

The teas are beautifully packed in a box and each teabag comes in a pink paper wrap. Even the tea bags are exquisitely made. You’ll also find a little note on the box that gives you a warm “welcome” of sorts into your tea drinking TEAtox journey which was a really nice touch too.

I found the packaging very attractive and it definitely helped in building up the excitement of going on this TEAtox programme for the next 14 days. Time will tell if I’ll be disciplined enough to complete this TEAtox in 14 consecutive days.

Since I’ll need to take it at least 30 minutes before a meal or after, I suppose a little bit of planning ahead with regard to my meal times has to happen or I’ll risk falling off the routine and end up not finishing the TEAtox. (NO! THIS CAN’T HAPPEN!)

tinytea-taste

One thing I was really worried about was the taste of the Tiny Tea blend. I watched review videos and read so many blog reviews and there was a split in terms of feedback on the fragrance and taste. Some felt that it was light and refreshing while others felt that it had a very strong after taste.

When I first opened the box, I found the aroma of the tea blend quite intense with a bit of bitterness. Looking at the ingredients list, I was also crossing my fingers that the “Chinese herbal taste” would not be off-putting.

I have consumed two cups of the tea so far and it is even lighter than traditional Chinese tea varieties like Pu-Erh or Oolong tea. Some people may not like the”grassy, herbal” taste, but I really thought it was quite easy to drink and could drink it very quickly if I wanted or sip it slowly if it pleased me.

I’ll update on the effects of the TEAtox after I complete it. Meanwhile, if you’re keen to purchase your own TEAtox, there’s a 14 or 28 Day TEAtox available along with some other interesting tea blends from Yourtea.com (view the Tea Shop here).

Read my update of my experience with the Tiny Tea TEAtox here.

, , , , , ,

24 Responses to Tiny Tea 14 Day TEAtox Review: First Impressions

  1. Gerri June 1, 2014 at 11:57 am #

    Hi! Thanks for your review! How was it? 🙂

    • Carrie June 4, 2014 at 5:49 pm #

      So far so good! I have finished the 14-day and found it really effective. So effective, I bought myself and my mom a 28-day box!

  2. Lizzie June 16, 2014 at 10:16 am #

    Hi, great review! I just received my teatox package. Do you know if you can make the tea ahead of time- like brew it the night before and consume in the morning?
    Thanks!

    • Carrie June 16, 2014 at 8:11 pm #

      Hi Lizzie, I’m not too sure if that’s alright, but I prefer to take my tea warm and since it only requires about 5 minutes of steeping, I just boil some water to steep my tea with when I wake up. 🙂 I’ve found that when I leave my tea for too long, theres quite a bit of sedimentation at the bottom of my cup as well.

  3. jessica June 18, 2014 at 8:44 am #

    Hi, great blog on this tea tox. I’m patiently waiting for my 14 day tea. I’m still worried though how safe it really is? How my body might take a detox?? What are the EXACT ingredients on this product???

    • Carrie June 18, 2014 at 11:14 am #

      Hi Jessica, the ingredients that are listed on the box and website indicate that it’s all herbs. So far I’ve continued to use the Tiny Tea Teatox after my 14-day and have never once experienced a reaction from the tea. It is no different from me drinking a herbal tea (without caffeine). It definitely helped with my constipation but I did not experience any diarrhea and only saw positive results in the form of regular bowel movement (once a day or every two days). I have finished the 14-day tea tox and am currently using the 28-day teatox (same thing, just for 28 days). Hope this helps!

  4. Lauren July 3, 2014 at 1:46 am #

    Did this tea help you lose any weight?

    • Carrie July 3, 2014 at 12:20 pm #

      Hi Lauren,

      I’ll be very honest. I love this product very much. I was sponsored my first box for 14-days but I am now a convert and take this every day. (I bought my second box 28-day.)

      It’s amazing if you battle with bulges because of water retention and bloating. It worked for me and visually I look leaner without the bloating when I take this product. I also find that it is a great help when I’m constipated. The herbal tea actually regulates my bowel movements, once a day, but it’s not diarrhea, just healthy bowel movement. But I will be frank – I did not lose any weight.

      When it comes to “weight loss”, the only way you will shed the extra weight is through a good mix of exercise (that is suitable for the amount of weight you’d like to drop) and a sensible diet (also taking into consideration the amount of energy you’ll need to sustain physical activities like exercise). There are plenty of weight loss aids out there and supplements, but I think this teatox is more of a health product that helps to rid excess toxins in your body (most likely due to the food we eat etc) that causes retention of water resulting in a “fatter” appearance (especially at the abdomen, belly and hips for me). I tend to get gassy too. So I don’t suffer from that too often now after religiously drinking this.

      Hope this gives you a bit more insight and do feel free to ask more questions if you have any doubts on the product!

      Cheers!

  5. Eve July 23, 2014 at 6:46 pm #

    Hi, I’m quite confused on the number of times to consume in a day. Twice or thrice? How many times did you consume per day?

    • Carrie July 25, 2014 at 11:45 am #

      Hi Eve, I take it twice a day as I hardly have breakfast. It’s taken 30 minutes before or after your regular meals. So if I do breakfast, lunch and dinner, I’d have three cups. But mostly I just take two as I only eat lunch and dinner anyway.

  6. Jessica July 29, 2014 at 3:13 pm #

    Carrie,

    I am wanting to loose weight before my 18 which is in September! I have just started working out! Very frequently (almost everyday) and as we’ll have started a diet plan. Do you think I will be able to lose some weight with the 14 day detox?

    • Carrie July 29, 2014 at 5:39 pm #

      Hi Jessica! I can completely understand that whole drive to lose weight before a big birthday celebration. I’m not a specialist but I can dish out some personal advice based on my years of weight loss attempts and regimes. Congrats on making exercise a part of your life! You’ll never regret every moment you spend caring for your body. A happy body that is being worked out just enough (but not strained) and is fed well, will look toned and regardless of how much weight you lose, you should see a difference in how you look.

      I’ve noticed that after 4 weeks of regular exercise and sensible eating (no binging and healthy dose of every food group – did not go on no fat, no carb or anything like that), you’ll see your body changing. It may or may not be drastic, but there WILL be visible change. 8 weeks of doing this and making this lifestyle change and friends, family will start noticing, and by 12 weeks of making a lifestyle change that balances working out, rest and good nutrition, everyone else will see it.

      The Tiny Tea TeaTox will not help you lose any weight. What it does is it reduces bloat which can be our body’s reaction to excessive salt, sugar or a whole number of reasons (stress or not enough sleep can cause it as well). Usually it is attributed to what we’re putting into our body. It helps alleviate the bloating through herbal ingredients. I do love this product very much because it definitely helped me keep the bloating at bay. I am sensitive to certain ingredients in my food and I tend to bloat, so when I take Tiny Tea, I find that I am visually “slimmer” but in actual fact, I have not lost any weight at all.

      It’s very important to remember that at the end of the day, weight may or may not be lost because everyone’s body reacts differently. I have actually gained weight as I exercised more and that may be because of my build etc. But visually, I look toned and better than I’ve ever been at a lower weight. I have also previously blogged about my fitness journey last year over 17 weeks on another blog: http://thecambelles.com/editors-blog/17-weeks-fit-carrie/

      I hope you’ll be able to look great and feel great by September and don’t give up! If you slip up at any point with diet or exercise, don’t feel demoralised, just keep on going and you’ll see the results you want. 🙂 Hope this has been helpful.

      Hope this is a helpful reference as well! ALL THE BEST JESSICA! YOU CAN DO IT. <3

  7. Irish June 13, 2015 at 11:45 am #

    Hi! I’m currently waiting for my 14-day Teatox package and I’ve been reading blogs about it. I was wondering if you still continued taking it until now and how were the effects for a long time use? Thank you!

    • Carrie June 16, 2015 at 9:28 am #

      Hi there Irish!

      I don’t recommend long time use for this product as it was never meant to be used in that manner.

      I use it whenever I feel that my bloating has become quite uncomfortable and drinking it helps greatly and I do have a 28-day Tea Tox on standby for times like that.

      Like mentioned in many of my previous comments and also my follow up blog post, this definitely is NOT a weight loss tea and I didn’t experience weight loss effects from it. What it did help with was water retention and bloating, so I appeared less bloated after I had it.

      Cheers,
      Carrie

  8. Helen July 13, 2015 at 7:04 pm #

    Hi,
    I was wondering if the detox tea contain caffeine? I am dealing with sleep disorder since I am young so I have to avoid caffeine during the afternoon and night. Do you think it can be a problem for the night cup?

    Thank you 🙂

    • Carrie July 15, 2015 at 12:20 am #

      Hey Helen,

      Tiny Tea 14 Day TEAtox does contain small amounts of naturally occurring caffeine. However, the company does state it should not cause any caffeinated effects.

      I personally didn’t get any of the usual caffeine effects like heart palpitations and headaches. I am quite sensitive to caffeine. Just one dose of it can get me jumpy and anxious.

      Cheers,
      Carrie

  9. clare July 17, 2015 at 12:25 am #

    I started using TINY TEA about…a year ago? wow. that long. I have gone off and on (due to $ and self control), I have tried other teas too. I really like tiny tea the best still. I found I missed the taste actually after a while and it is currently helping me replace coffee.

    I definitely notice a SIGNIFICANT decrease in bloating when drinking the tea. I highly highly recommend this if you have any type of bloating or tummy issues. I have a very sensitive tummy and this tea REALLY helps.

    My two complaints would be:
    1. the price (but i mean it’s a great gift and if the ingredients are good, then I can deal with the price)
    2. the actual paper wrappers – please please please be very careful opening the tea packages, sometimes they rip. I don’t know if this has happened to anyone else, but it’s no fun when it rips and you get tea everywhere lol and not in your drink!

    I’ve tried to get some friends on board. Some LOVE it, some don’t like the taste. For me, it has a very unique taste that doesn’t bother me and is light, but everyone is different.

    Some people I know really like the ballerina tea? I don’t know anything about that tea though.

  10. Salina December 5, 2015 at 4:09 am #

    Can we steep the tea bag twice? Would it be just as effectice?

    • Carrie December 6, 2015 at 2:53 pm #

      I usually steep my bag in two rounds of water in my mug, but I drink both full cups. I would suppose the amount of ingredients provided per bag are suitable for one meal period.

      I wouldn’t recommend steeping it once and having the concentrated version for one meal period and then steeping the used bag again for another meal period and expect the same effect as the first steep is a lot stronger than the subsequent steeping rounds.

      I am not an expert on this and you might want to check with the Tiny Tea customer service directly.

  11. amber March 24, 2016 at 6:51 pm #

    I have seen these teas but found the prices seem to keep going up and up and up. I was recommended a tea by a friend called tea2body and they are much more affordable and they actually offer free world wide shipping. I tried the 28 day teatox program and lost 5kg and was really happy with the overall results. I was less bloated and had more energy throughout the program. My stomach was much flatter and my legs were more toned. Also I found them to be really friendly and helpful throughout the whole shopping experience with queries etc…I would definitely recommend their teas and will be using them again 🙂

  12. Hailey July 21, 2017 at 11:30 am #

    Hi Carrie! Good review, I saw in the comments that after trying it you loved it, thats great! I tried this teatox as well and didn’t love it. I didn’t love the way it made me feel or how often it’s supposed to be consumed. If you’re interested in hearing all my thoughts on this one check out my blog!!

  13. Hailey November 27, 2017 at 11:56 am #

    I found that this tea actually bloated me! Did you feel this way?

    • Carrie November 27, 2017 at 6:08 pm #

      Hey Hailey, great to hear a different perspective through your review on Tiny Tea, but I’ve noticed you posted twice. I have already left both your comments published, but would like to point out that I have already shared in a follow up post (that can be seen in the trackback) that the tea was actually alleviating my bloating problem and I had no issues with the two laxatives you mentioned. In fact, it relieved my constipation. My final review is here, just in case you missed it: http://carriesim.com/tiny-tea-14-day-teatox-review-final-review/

      I would think different bodies react differently to these teatox tea. Just a disclaimer that I don’t think reliance on it is the way to go and it’s great if you need some relief due to bloating. In your case, it seems your body didn’t respond so well to the tea and its ingredients. Not sure if this has anything to do with the fact that I’m Chinese and I’ve been exposed to a lot of different teas and herbal remedies since I grew up in Singapore in Southeast Asia. I personally repurchased the teas previously. I’m currently not using them as I’m trying out brewed Ginger Teas.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tiny Tea 14 Day TEAtox Review: Final Review - C A R R I E S I M | A Visual Diary | Singapore Lifestyle Blog - July 15, 2014

    […] impressions review of Yourtea.com ‘s Tiny Tea 14 Day Teatox, you might want to check it out here for an overview of the tea before you read my final […]

Leave a Reply